HOW TO KNOW THAT GOOGLE REALLY RECORDS EVERY STEP YOU TAKE

Google
Photo: Depositphotos

Google records your movements even if you don’t explicitly ask it to. Step-by-step instructions on how to disable this feature were published by Daily Mail.

Google’s Android and iPhone devices keep records of your location even after you turn on privacy options that claim to stop spying.

Turning off the Location History feature in the Google app settings should prevent the company from tracking your movements.

However, the researchers found that the search company was still collecting information about the location of users behind their backs.

To prove this, Princeton doctoral student Hans Acar conducted an experiment on Android, disabling the setting “Location History”.

The researchers found that, despite speculating that they were not collecting data, Google kept a record of Dr. Akar’s trips to New York and visiting High Line Park, Chelsea’s market, hell’s kitchen, central park and Harlem.

The movements that were tracked by Google, the researchers mapped. To protect Dr. Akar’s privacy, the researchers did not include his most frequent visit, his home address.

They found that Google registers a record of your current location each time you open your Google Map navigation app. Daily weather updates on Android phones also provided another way to track traffic.

The discovery was the result of an investigation by the Associated Press (AP) and confirmed by computer science researchers at Princeton University.

Researchers found that Google first asked for permission to use your location information.

An application such as Google Maps will remind you to allow access to a location if you use it for navigation.

If you agree to have your location recorded over time, Google Maps will display this story for you in a “timeline” that displays your daily movements.

Keeping your every-minute steps puts confidentiality at risk and is used by the police to locate suspects.

Disable tracking on any device
Run your browser and go to myactivity.google.com . You will need to log in to Google.

In the top-left dropdown menu, go to the “Activity Controls” section. Disable “Web & App Activity” and “Location History”.

This should prevent the storage of accurate location markers in your Google account.

Google will warn you that some of its services will not work if these settings are disabled.

In particular, neither Google Assistant, nor digital concierge, nor Google Home speaker.

On iOS
If you are using Google Maps, set your location to “While Using” applications. This will prevent the application from accessing your location when it is inactive.

Go to “Settings Privacy Location Services” and select “Google Maps” to complete the setup.

In the Safari web browser, consider using a search engine other than Google.

In the Safari Search Engine Settings section, you can find other options, such as Bing or DuckDuckGo.

You can turn off a location while browsing by going to the Privacy Location Services Safari settings page and go to the “Never” section.

This still does not prevent advertisers from finding your location by IP address on any website.

You can also disable location services on the device almost entirely from the Privacy Location Services settings.

Google Maps and Apple Maps will still work, but they will not know where you are on the map and will not be able to give you directions.

On Android
In the main settings icon, click “Security & location”. Scroll down to the “Privacy” heading. Click “Location”. You can disable it for the entire device.

Use “App-level permissions” to disable access to various applications.

Unlike the iPhone, there are no settings for “While Using”.

You cannot disable Google Play services that send your location to other applications if you exit the application.

To delete past location tracking on any device

On page myactivity.google.com Find any entry that has a location icon next to the word “details.”

Clicking on this pop-up window that includes the “From your current location” link.

Clicking on it will open Google Maps, which will show your location.

You can remove it from this pop-up by clicking the three-point navigation icon and then “Delete”.

Comments

comments

ForumDaily

forumdaily.com

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply